Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:16 p.m. - 2008-12-23
Vatican Poison


I see that the Pope has proclaimed that the world needs to be saved from homosexuals and transsexuals. What a charming man. There are millions of gay Christians across the globe and he makes a divisive statement like that just two days away from Christmas. It�s a disturbing insult. How many people will use his words as justification for attacking gay and transsexual men and women? My own opinion is that the world needs to be saved from poverty, injustice, intolerance and wanton cruelty, not from people like me or Twinks, etc. We�re fairly harmless when you get to know us, certainly lot less harmless than that spiteful little vial of Vatican poison. I felt strongly enough to email my thoughts. Yes, his divine holiness has an email address: [email protected]. I won�t hold my breath for a reply; it just made me feel a little bit better to voice my concerns.


I�ve finished work until after Christmas now, but Twinkles is still working flat out, he�s acting manager at the moment and he�s working from 8.30 to 7.30 and even later some days. The economic climate being what it is they have to do the hours to catch all available trade. He�s stressed out of his head; he doesn�t get a day off or even time for a lunch or tea break. The shop is short staffed. Susan is recuperating from a bad bout of the winter vomiting bug and Don, his boss, is on indefinite leave. Sadly, his six-year-old grandson William, who suffers from cystic fibrosis, is critically ill in hospital with a chest infection. The family, understandably, want to be by his bedside. We�re all hoping and praying that he�ll pull through. He�s a game little lad, a real fighter, but apparently this is a bad infection and he�s struggling. The spectre of death really should not shadow children, but alas it does.

I�ve been doing some last minute Christmas shopping this morning so I�ve got housework to catch up on. The living room looks like a cosmetic tipping ground at the moment. Twinks was painting his toenails last night and he decided to paint each nail a different colour, so there�s ten bottles of coloured varnish plus base coats and top coats scattered over the coffee table along with cotton wool pads, nail files etc.

I�m going to make a nice chicken casserole and put it in the slow cooker then I might pop down to Twinks� shop for a couple of hours and offer my services as a gift wrapper and tea maker, it might help ease a tiny bit of pressure on the staff.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!