Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:49 p.m. - 2008-01-21
In The Frame

�I really don�t think so.�

How about these then?

�Oh no, no, no, thank you, no.�

These are nice.

�Are we looking at the same object?�

These?

�No, out of the question, I could NOT live with those, hideous, hideous!�

You don�t have to live with them; I�m the one that has to wear them.

�Yes, but while you may be the one looking THROUGH them, I�ll be the one that has to look AT them and they�re aging, I do not want to look at someone who looks aged, it reflects badly on me.�

I quite like this pair.

�You only like them because they�re cheap, and if you buy them I will leave you.�


I should know better, after years of living with Twinks I really should know better than to: A) Tell him that I was having eye trouble in the first place, and B) let slip when my appointment at the opticians was for. I should have done it all stealthily and only told Twinkles when the deed was done and the specs chosen. He booked his day off to coincide with my appointment and insisted on coming with me, interfering little toad he is, he has to be in. Unlike him a few months back I did end up with a prescription for glasses after my eye test this morning, my eyes aren�t drastically declining, I don�t need to wear glasses all the time, mainly for watching TV and computer work really. Left to my own devices I would have chosen a frame in under ten minutes, but with Twinkles in charge ten minutes turned into an hour plus some. We must have gone through every pair of frames on show. Twinks even asked if they had any others �out the back.� They didn�t and the poor assistant was beginning to look frazzled. My own patience was also wearing thin; my palm was itching to deal the self-appointed spec chooser�s bum a good smack for his fussy optical fashion hysteria. In the end I solved the matter by giving him a �certain� look and telling him the final �choice� was between a pair of plastic black framed glasses that he had absolutely hated, and a pair of rimless glasses which I�d liked because they were nice and light and I thought the oval shape suited me. He chose the latter with the air of a spouse who had a lot to put up with.

It�s rained non-stop all day today and I was glad to get home from the town. In addition to eye trouble I�ve also been having back trouble. It�s been aching badly and is I�m sure related to the injuries sustained in the car crash I had last year. Twinks has promised to give me a back rub later, so that�s to look forward to.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!